Top of the Rock has been enthralling visitors from all over the world since opening on November 1, 2005. But the story of the observation deck stretches all the way back to the very beginnings of Rockefeller Center. Seventy stories high, it was the first attraction to open to the public when the RCA Building (aka 30 Rockefeller Plaza) debuted in 1933, and almost immediately became a popular destination among New Yorkers and tourists alike. The 190-foot rooftop promenade, the observation area, was a place to see and be seen. By the fall of 1935, an average of 1,300 visitors a day paid admission to view the breathtaking 360-degree panorama of the city and beyond.
The observatory remained open until 1986, when it was closed due to high costs and low attendance. During it’s 19 year closure, it underwent a major renovation. The project went beyond refurbishing the viewing decks on the 70th-floor to create a new entry and exhibition spaces, and in 2005 the rooftop reopened as Top of the Rock.
The ability of Selux to replace existing residential-grade bollards with a custom height Notch LED Bollard was integral to the lighting design. The custom LED bollard was also chosen for its sturdiness along with its cutoff asymmetrical distribution of light. Quality materials and superior wear resistant powder coat finish make Notch LED Bollard the perfect choice for the challenging weather conditions on the 70th floor, while providing unobtrusive light to sight-seekers of the New York City skyline at night.
Selux is proud Notch LED Bollard was chosen to light the way for more than three million visitors each year to Top of the Rock as they gaze upon Central Park and the Empire State Building, among other Midtown landmarks within the spectacular 360-degree scene.